New Kuwait Parliament Speaker Al Ghanim

Kuwait SpeakerHis Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah inaugurated on Tuesday the first regular session of the 14th legislative term of the National Assembly. Following the election of Parliament committees, Lawmaker Marzooq Ali Al Ganim was elected the new Speaker of the Kuwaiti parliament. MP Al Ghanim received 36 votes, against former Parliament Speaker Ali Al-Rashed who took 18 votes, the outgoing speaker MP Roudhan Al-Roudhan who took eight votes and MP Ali Al-Omair who did not receive any votes as he announced his withdrawal prior to the election.


“The holding of elections and the opening of the first session of the 14th legislative term during the Holy Month of Ramadan is truly a blessed sequence of events that will hopefully lead to a better political future for this country,” said His Highness Sheikh Sabah who called on the National Assembly and Cabinet to work together in supporting the country’s development.


Moreover, MP Mubarak Al-Khurainij won the post of Deputy Speaker with 36 votes. Al-Khurainij ran against MP Kamel Al-Awadhi who took 25 votes. MP Yaqoub Al-Sana’ was elected National Assembly Secretary after receiving 30 votes. The post of National Assembly Observer given to MP Saud Al-Huraiji after MP Safa’ Al-Hashem withdrew from the race. The Assembly elected the members of the Parliament Delegation division. MP Faisal Al-Shaye was elected undersecretary, MP Jamal Al-Omar was elected secretary.

Share this post

Leave a Reply